City Council



The City Council is the governing body of the City of Los Angeles and enacts ordinances subject to the approval or veto of the Mayor. The City of Los Angeles is divided into 15 districts, approximately equal in population. Each district is represented by a Councilmember who is elected to serve a full-time, four-year term. The Council has authority to pass ordinances, resolutions and other actions affected a broad range of issues and serves. It approves contracts, adopts traffic regulations and land use controls, levies taxes and authorizes public improvements.


Regular meetings of the Los Angeles City Council are held at 10 a.m. each Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday in the John Ferraro Council Chamber, Room 340, City Hall. Members of the public are welcome to attend these sessions and may speak on agenda topics. For information about specific Council agenda items, call the City Clerk at (213)-978-1133. To encourage greater public participation, the Council also holds a number of special meetings in various communities throughout the City each year.

Council Meeting Video

You can tune in to Channel 35 CityView, carried by cable operators in the City. Council meetings are broadcast live and repeated later in the day and on the weekends on Channel 35 and are broadcast.

Council Phones

Another option is to monitor the Council and Committee proceedings by telephone. Use the numbers below to listen to live Public Meetings from any phone:

  • Downtown (213) 621-CITY

  • San Pedro (310) 547-CITY

  • West Los Angeles (310) 471-CITY

  • Van Nuys (818) 904-9450

Council meets regularly on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday in the John Ferraro Council Chamber, Room 340, inside City Hall at 10:00 am. All meetings are open to the public.